Signature of the partnership agreement FPM – Equity Bank Congo

FPM, Fund for financial inclusion in DR Congo organized last December in Kinshasa, the signing ceremony of the partnership agreement with Equity Bank Congo SA.

Célestin Mukeba, Managing Director of Equity Bank Congo and Jean-Claude Thetika, Managing Director of FPM ASBL.

Célestin Mukeba, Managing Director of Equity Bank Congo and Jean-Claude Thetika, Managing Director of FPM ASBL.

As part of its mission, which is part of the national strategy of microfinance to improve financial inclusion in the Democratic Republic of Congo, FPM contributes to poverty reduction in the DRC by promoting the development of an offer sustainable financial services accessible to Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) and low-income households.

It is within the framework of the direct technical assistance that FPM has been supporting Equity Bank Congo since March 2016 in the training of the staff and especially the capacity building of the agribusiness, facilitating the offer of the financial services in favor of the chains of agricultural values. With the support of FPM, Equity Bank Congo, which is a growing bank, is expanding its offer to the agricultural sector, a sector with very high potential and strategic development of the country. The agricultural sector is very often left to development projects and NGOs and receives little attention from the country’s banks and financial institutions, due to the nature of the risks and infrastructure challenges that the DRC presents. The support of FPM ASBL since 2016 has boosted the development of Equity Bank Congo’s activities in this important sector.

For this new partnership, the intervention of FPM is in line with the previous one, essentially aiming at optimizing the management of staff training, with the implementation of an e-learning platform and the development of large scale of the offer of financial services in favor of the agricultural sector. In addition, this new partnership also includes support for the expansion of digital financial services, in particular the bank’s agent network. The objective is to promote access to financial services, by improving Equity’s coverage and penetration in areas not covered by physical agencies and also by enhancing the impact and quality of services offered to its customers. The overall budget for this new intervention is around USD 400,000.

Equity Bank Congo SA is a subsidiary of the Equity Holdings Plc Group, which is a very dynamic group present in East Africa and the Center. The Group’s ambition is to set up in ten other African countries in the near future. The DRC is the sixth country and the first step in this ambitious program to count by 2025, 100 million customers. Currently, the Equity Group has more than 12 million customers with assets totaling more than 5.5 billion US dollars and an average return on investment of 30%.

The Equity Group is a leader in technological innovation and facilitation of financial and banking operations, has proven expertise in agribusiness and has transformed more than 600,000 subsistence farmers into Agro-Business men, in order to meet its mission of to be the champion of the socio-economic prosperity of Africans.

Equity Bank Congo is a solid financial institution, with rigorous management principles and a robust institutional architecture. It is a pioneer in innovations such as electronic banking and wants to maintain this leadership with initiatives on digital banking and agricultural financing. As a pioneer in agribusiness, the bank plans to increase this portfolio with the privileged target of the entire agricultural value chain.

New partnership agreement between FPM - VisionFund DRC
Signature of the partnership agreement between FPM ASBL and COOPEC TUJENGE PAMOJA

Latest news

Signature du contrat de partenariat FPM– Equity Bank Congo

Le FPM ASBL, Fonds œuvrant pour l’inclusion financière en RD Congo a organisé ce mercredi 5 décembre 2018 à Kinshasa, la cérémonie de signature du contrat de partenariat avec Equity Bank Congo SA.

Célestin Mukeba, Directeur Général de Equity Bank Congo et Jean-Claude Thetika, Directeur Général du FPM ASBL

Célestin Mukeba, Directeur Général de Equity Bank Congo et Jean-Claude Thetika, Directeur Général du FPM ASBL

Dans le cadre de sa mission, qui s’inscrit dans la stratégie nationale de la microfinance visant à améliorer l’inclusion financière en République Démocratique du Congo, le FPM contribue à la réduction de la pauvreté en RDC en favorisant le développement d’une offre durable des services financiers accessibles aux Micro, Petites et moyennes Entreprises (MPME) et aux ménages à faible revenus.

Il faut savoir que c’est dans le cadre de l’assistance technique directe que le FPM appuie Equity Bank Congo depuis mars 2016 dans la formation du personnel et surtout le renforcement des capacités de l’agrobusiness, facilitant l’offre des services financiers en faveur des chaines de valeurs agricoles. Avec les appuis du FPM ASBL, Equity Bank Congo, une banque en pleine croissance, a pu développer son offre au secteur agricole, qui est un secteur à très fort potentiel et stratégique pour le développement du pays. De manière générale, le secteur agricole est très souvent laissé aux projets et ONG de développement et ne bénéficie que d’une faible attention des banques et des institutions financières du pays, à cause de la nature des risques et des défis d’infrastructures que présente la RDC. Les appuis du FPM ASBL depuis 2016 ont dynamisé le développement des activités d’Equity Bank Congo dans ce secteur important.

Pour ce nouveau partenariat, l’intervention du FPM ASBL s’inscrit dans la continuité du précédent en visant essentiellement l‘optimisation de la gestion des formations du personnel, avec la mise en place d’une plateforme e-learning et le développement à grande échelle de l’offre des services financiers en faveurs du secteur agricole. Par ailleurs, ce nouveau partenariat comprend également un appui à l’extension des services financiers digitaux, en particulier le réseau d’agents bancaires. L’objectif étant de favoriser l’accès aux services financiers, en améliorant la couverture et la pénétration d’Equity dans les zones non couvertes par les agences physiques et également, de renforcer l’impact et la qualité des services offerts à sa clientèle. Le budget global de cette nouvelle intervention se situe autour de 400.000 USD.

Equity Bank Congo SA est filiale du Groupe Equity Holdings Plc, qui est un groupe très dynamique présent en Afrique de l’Est et au Centre. Le Groupe a l’ambition de s’implanter dans dix autres pays africains dans un futur proche. La RDC est le sixième pays et la première étape dans cet ambitieux programme de compter à l’horizon 2025, 100 millions de clients. Actuellement, le Groupe Equity compte plus de 12 millions de clients avec un total actif de plus de 5.5 Milliard de dollars américains et un retour sur investissement en moyenne de 30%.

Le Groupe Equity est leader dans l’innovation technologique et en facilitation des opérations financières et bancaires, il a une expertise avérée dans l’agrobusiness et a transformé plus de 600.000 fermiers de subsistance en Agro-Business men, ceci pour répondre à sa mission d’être le champion de la prospérité socio-économique des Africains.

Equity Bank Congo est une institution financière solide, ayant des principes de gestion rigoureux et une architecture institutionnelle robuste. Elle est pionnière dans les innovations telle que la monétique et souhaite maintenir ce leadership avec des initiatives sur le digital banking et le financement agricole. Pionnière dans l’agrobusiness, la banque envisage une croissance plus importante de ce portefeuille avec comme cible privilégiée toute la chaine de valeur du secteur agricole.

Signature du contrat de partenariat entre le FPM ASBL et la COOPEC TUJENGE PAMOJA

Dernières nouvelles