Celebrating 5 years of FPM SA

FPM SA with its Partners at the DRC Inclusion Promotion Workshop, on the occasion of its 5th anniversary.

Five years of existence, five years of financial services offered to financial institutions, the FPM SA, Fund for Financial Inclusion in DR Congo through the refinancing of financial institutions whose main target is MSMEs, organized last September 27, two events including a workshop on the promotion of financial inclusion in DR Congo and a dinner party.

In the morning, two highlights marked the workshop, namely the panel on “Financial inclusion in DR Congo, 10 years later: Macroeconomic overview and social impact” led by the technical advisor of FPM SA (Incofin IM), IFC (SFI), the Central Bank of Congo, ANIMF (National Association of Microfinance Institutions in the DRC), the ACB (Congolese Association of Banks) and the technical assistance vehicle of FPM namely, FPM ASBL. The second panel focused on the theme of “Refinancing Micros, Small and Medium Enterprises: 5 years of FPM SA, Balance Sheet and Outlook“. Three financial institutions were invited as panelists: Equity Bank, Afriland Bank and SMICO SA; the Ministry of SMEs represented by the CEO of OPEC, as well as FPM SA, the organizer.

The Managing Director of FPM SA was the first to speak for his words of circumstance in the presence of the representative of the Minister of SMEs, the Vice-Governor of the Central Bank of Congo, the President of the Board of Directors of FPM SA, representatives of the donors and the Directors General of different financial institutions operating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

From the outset, the CEO of FPM SA recalled the mission of FPM: “FPM is a multi-donor fund with the ultimate goal of reducing poverty and improving the living conditions of the people in DR Congo. To do this, it aims to support the construction and development of an inclusive and accountable financial system. ” He presented the highlights of FPM since 2010 to date and the motivations that drove German cooperation / KfW, Cordaid, Bio and INCOFIN CVSO to set up this refinancing vehicle in 2014. Based on a share capital of 20 000 USD to its creation, FPM SA to date has 36 million USD of commitments and 23.4 million USD of registered capital.

In a review of its activities, the CEO said that since 2010, FPM has initiated 179 technical assistance projects for a volume of nearly 15 million US and has disbursed $ 42 million in funding for small and medium companies. To date, he said, FPM SA has outstanding credit of 27 million USD.

Recalling that the Congolese financial sector had nearly 100,000 bank accounts in 1999 and that by the end of 2018 it had close to 18 million including mobile accounts.

However, did he wonder, despite the developments and modernisation of financial services over the last ten years, what about their use? What about their accessibility? What about their appropriation? ». It is through these questions that the Executive Director of FPM SA concluded his occasional address, leaving the participants in this workshop the opportunity to shed more light on it.

For her part, the Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of FPM SA, Claudia Huber, began by recalling the history of FPM SA, which includes that of FPM ASBL. She then thanked the German Cooperation which was the driving force behind the creation of FPM SA with other founding shareholders Bio, Cordaid, Incofin CVSO for their support.

In five years, the FPM SA has developed its credit portfolio of more than USD 27 million invested in 10 financial institutions in the DRC,” said the PCA before welcoming the fact that the FPM SA has reached break-even since 2018 in economic circumstances that were not always easy, she recalled.

According to President Claudia Huber, the level of financial inclusion in DR Congo has taken a major step forward over the past 10 years.

 

Concluding her speech, she indicated that together with the sister vehicle, FPM ASBL, financial institutions will continue to benefit from FPM ASBL support for MSMEs.

Speaking, Mr. Jules BONDOMBE ASSANGO, Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Congo, stressed that the situation of the Congolese financial system, notes, at first glance, that the supply of financial services in the Democratic Republic of Congo is ensured by: “Seventeen (17) commercial banks in operation, one (1) savings bank, two (2) central savings and credit cooperatives,, eighty (80) primary savings and credit cooperatives, twenty-one (21) Microfinance Institutions, three (3) specialized financial institutions mainly public, five (5) financial companies, including four (4) E-money Issuing Institutions and FPM SA, seventy-nine (79) financial couriers and thirty-two (32) approved exchange offices“.

However, the Deputy Governor noted that the supply of financial services is still strongly correlated with location, with people living in major urban centers being more favored than those in remote rural areas, and at the income level, the poorest are generally excluded from the system “.

Despite these advances in the banking sector, the DR Congo has a low level of banking and, as a result, the rate of financial inclusion which would be close to 15%.

Concluding his remarks, the Vice-Governor of the BCC is of the opinion that the growth potential of the financial activity remains important in the DR Congo.

This celebration ended in the evening at KEMPINSKI Hotel with a dinner offered to different partners and guests.

9th edition of the Forum Access to Finance: Mini Forum Access to Finance

Latest news

Célébration des 5 ans du FPM SA

FPM SA avec ses Partenaires lors de l’Atelier sur la promotion de l’inclusion en RDC, à l’occasion de son 5ième anniversaire.

Cinq années d’existence, cinq années de services financiers offerts aux institutions financières, le FPM SA, Fonds œuvrant pour l’inclusion financière en RD Congo via le refinancement des institutions financières ayant comme cible principale les MPME, a organisé en date du 27 septembre dernier, deux événements dont un atelier sur la promotion de l’inclusion financière en RD Congo et une soirée dinatoire.

Dans la matinée, deux temps forts ont marqué l’atelier, à savoir le panel sur « l’inclusion financière en RDC, 10 ans après : Aperçu macroéconomique et impact social » animé par le conseiller technique du FPM SA (Incofin IM), l’IFC (SFI), la Banque Centrale du Congo, l’ANIMF (Association nationale des institutions de microfinance en RDC), l’ACB (Association congolaise des banques) ainsi que le véhicule de l’assistance technique du FPM à savoir, le FPM ASBL. Le second panel a porté sur le thème « le refinancement des Micros, Petites et Moyennes Entreprises : 5 ans du FPM SA, Bilan et perspectives ». Trois institutions financières étaient invitées comme panelistes : Equity Bank, Afriland Bank et SMICO SA ; le Ministère de la PME représenté par le DG de l’OPEC, ainsi que le FPM SA, l’organisateur.

 

Le Directeur Général de FPM SA a été le premier à prendre la parole pour son mot de circonstance en présence du représentant du ministre des PME, du Vice-Gouverneur de la Banque centrale du Congo, de la Présidente du Conseil d’administration de FPM SA, des représentants des bailleurs de fonds et des Directeurs Généraux de différentes institutions financières opérant en République démocratique du Congo.

D’entrée de jeu, le DG de FPM SA a rappelé la mission du FPM : « Le FPM est un fonds multi bailleurs avec comme objectif final la réduction de la pauvreté et l’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations en RD Congo. Pour ce faire, il vise à soutenir la construction et le développement d’un système financier inclusif et responsable ». Il a présenté les faits marquants de FPM depuis 2010 à ce jour et les motivations qui ont poussé la coopération allemande/KfW, Cordaid, Bio et INCOFIN CVSO de mettre en place ce véhicule de refinancement en 2014. Partant d’un capital social de 20 000 USD à sa création, le FPM SA à ce jour compte 36 millions USD d’engagements et 23,4 millions USD de capital social ».

Faisant le bilan de ses activités, le DG a indiqué que depuis 2010, le FPM a initié 179 projets d’assistance technique pour un volume de près de 15 millions US et a injecté en décaissement 42 millions USD au profit de financement des petites et moyennes entreprises. A ce jour, a-t-il dit, le FPM SA a un encours de crédit de 27 millions USD.

Rappelant que le secteur financier congolais comptait près de 100.000 comptes bancaires en 1999 et qu’en fin 2018 il comptait près de 18 millions y compris les comptes mobiles.

Cependant, s’est-il interrogé, en dépit des développements constatés et de la modernisation des services financiers ces dix dernières années, qu’en est-il de leur utilisation ? Qu’en est-il de leur accessibilité ? Qu’en est-il de leur appropriation ? ». C’est par ces questionnements que le Directeur général de FPM SA a terminé son mot de circonstance, laissant aux participants à cet atelier la possibilité d’y apporter plus de lumière.

Pour sa part, la Présidente du Conseil d’Administration du FPM SA, Mme Claudia Huber, a commencé par rappeler l’historique du FPM SA qui passe par celle de FPM ASBL. Elle a ensuite remercié la Coopération allemande qui a été le moteur de la création de FPM SA avec d’autres actionnaires fondateurs Bio, Cordaid, Incofin CVSO pour leur soutien.

« En cinq ans, le FPM SA a développé son portefeuille de crédit de plus de 27 millions USD investi dans 10 institutions financières de la RDC » a dit la PCA avant de saluer le fait que le FPM SA a atteint le seuil de rentabilité depuis 2018 dans des circonstances économiques qui n’étaient pas toujours faciles, a-t-elle rappelé.

De l’avis de la PCA, Claudia Huber, le niveau de l’inclusion financière en RD Congo a fait un grand pas ces 10 dernières années.

Concluant son allocution la PCA a indiqué, qu’ensemble avec le véhicule sœur, le FPM ASBL, les institutions financières vont continuer à bénéficier du soutien de FPM au profit des MPME.

Prenant la parole, Monsieur le vice-gouverneur de la Banque centrale du Congo, Jules Bondombe Assango,  a souligné que la situation du système financier congolais, relève, de prime abord, que l’offre des services financiers en République Démocratique du Congo est assurée par : « dix-sept (17) banques commerciales en activité, une (1) Caisse d’Epargne, deux (2) Coopératives Centrales d’Epargne et de Crédit, quatre-vingt (80) Coopératives primaires d’Epargne et de Crédit, vingt et une (21) Institutions de Micro Finance, trois (3) institutions financières spécialisées essentiellement publiques, cinq (5) sociétés financières, dont quatre (4) Etablissements  Emetteurs de Monnaie Electronique et le FPM SA, septante-neuf (79) messageries financières et trente-deux (32) bureaux de change agréés ».

Cependant, le Vice-Gouverneur a fait remarquer que l’offre des services financiers demeure encore fortement corrélée à la localisation, les personnes vivant dans les grands centres urbains étant plus favorisées que celles des zones rurales éloignées, et au niveau de revenu, les plus démunies étant généralement exclues du système ».

Malgré ces avancées dans le secteur bancaire, la RD Congo accuse un faible niveau de bancarisation et, par conséquent, le taux d’inclusion financière qui se situerait à près de 15%.

Concluant son propos, le Vice-Gouverneur de la BCC est d’avis que le potentiel de croissance de l’activité financière reste important en RD Congo.

Cette célébration s’est clôturée dans la soirée au KEMPINSKI Hôtel par un dîner offert aux différents partenaires et invités.

Signature du contrat de partenariat entre le FPM ASBL et CAMEC MBANZA NGUNGU
9e édition du Forum accès au Financement: Mini Forum Accès au Financement

Dernières nouvelles