Renewal of the partnership between the FPM and the IMF SMICO

The FPM, Fund for Financial Inclusion in DR Congo, through its technical assistance vehicle FPM ASBL, renewed in November 2018 in Goma during a ceremony a partnership contract with the Microcredit Company. Congolese, SMICO in acronym, which is a microfinance institution headquartered in Goma.

Jean-Claude THETIKA, Managing Director of FPM ASBL and Pacifique Matabaro Ndagano, Managing Director of SMICO SA

It is within the framework of direct technical assistance that the FPM has been supporting microfinance institution SMICO SA since 2015 in various areas such as the improvement of institutional infrastructure, the repositioning of micro, small and medium-sized enterprises on the market through improving credit supply to this segment, internal control, optimizing the management information system, improving financial and accounting management, setting up universal standards for social performance management etc.

Indeed, with the various support of the FPM ASBL, the growing institution enjoys a balanced structure in accordance with the regulations. First, by supporting the development of the business plan, SMICO was able to bring the different development perspectives into coherence within a logical framework of institutional growth, leading to a balanced growth plan adapted to the institutional capacities on which the institution capitalizes FPM supports’ have been catalysts for this development.

For this new partnership, the intervention of FPM ASBL, part of SMICO SA’s business plan, aims to support the institution in the development of distribution channels focused on new technologies and the upgrading of customer management. The objective is to promote access to financial services by improving the coverage and penetration of SMICO in the areas of implantation and also by reinforcing the impact and the quality of the services offered to its customers. The overall budget for this new intervention is around 200,000 USD (US Dollars two hundred thousand).

SMICO is one of the strongest in eastern DRC microfinance institution. Created in December 2009 (soon to be 10 years old) by a group of former Belgian and Congolese bankers who have a strong attachment to the region and the development of local communities in Kivu and the eastern DRC. This vision of shareholders is illustrated by the development of SMICO which is counted among financially solid MFIs. Over the years, SMICO has succeeded in building the reputation of a stable institution in a market where the main players have gone bankrupt. It is growing and already covers the two Kivus (Goma, Bukavu and Uvira), Bunia (Ituri Province in the former Eastern Province), Kalemie (Province of Tanganyika in the former Katanga) and Kisangani (Province of Tshopo in the former Province Orientale). It aims to conquer new markets and expand its coverage area. One of the strengths of the institution lies in the involvement of shareholders in maintaining the vision and development of the institution, their ability to raise funds to finance growth and the strength of governance.

FPM and VisionFund, A Partnership for Strengthening the Financial Inclusion Process in the DRC
Signature of the FPM - FINCA partnership agreement for financial inclusion promotion in the DRC

Latest news

Renouvellement du partenariat entre le FPM et l’IMF SMICO

Le FPM, Fonds œuvrant pour l’inclusion financière en RD Congo, par le biais de son véhicule d’assistance technique le FPM ASBL, a renouvelé en novembre 2018 à Goma un contrat de partenariat avec la Société de microcrédit congolais, SMICO en sigle, qui est une institution de microfinance dont le siège est à Goma.

Jean-Claude THETIKA, Directeur Général du FPM ASBL et Pacifique Matabaro Ndagano Directeur Général de SMICO SA

C’est dans le cadre de l’assistance technique directe que le FPM appuie l’institution de microfinance SMICO SA depuis 2015 dans les domaines tels que l’amélioration infrastructure institutionnelle, le repositionnement sur le marché des micros, petites et moyennes entreprises à travers l’amélioration de l’offre de crédit à ce segment, le contrôle interne, l’optimisation du système d’information de gestion, l’amélioration de la gestion financière & comptable, la mise en place des normes universelles de gestion des performances sociales, etc.

En effet, avec les différents appuis du FPM ASBL, l’institution en pleine croissance jouit d’une structure équilibrée conforme à la règlementation. L’appui à l’élaboration du plan d’affaires a également permis de mettre en cohérence les différentes perspectives de développement dans un cadre logique de croissance institutionnelle pour aboutir à un plan de croissance équilibré et adapté aux capacités institutionnelles sur lesquelles l’institution capitalise. Les appuis du FPM ASBL ont été des catalyseurs favorisant ce développement.

Pour ce nouveau partenariat, l’intervention du FPM ASBL s’inscrivant dans le plan d’affaires de SMICO SA, vise essentiellement à accompagner à l’institution dans le développement des canaux de distribution axés sur les nouvelles technologies et l’amélioration de la gestion de la clientèle. L’objectif étant de favoriser l’accès aux services financiers en améliorant la couverture et la pénétration de SMICO dans les zones d’implantation et également en renforçant l’impact et la qualité des services offerts à sa clientèle. Le budget global de cette nouvelle intervention se situe autour de 200.000 USD (dollars Américains deux cent mille).

SMICO est l’une des IMF les plus solides de l’Est de la RDC. Elle a été créée en décembre 2009 (bientôt 10 ans) à l’initiative d’un groupe d’anciens banquiers belges et congolais qui ont un fort attachement à la région et au développement des communautés locales du Kivu et de la partie Est de la RDC. Cette vision des actionnaires s’illustre par le développement de SMICO qui est compté parmi les IMF financièrement solides. Au fil des années, SMICO a réussi à bâtir la réputation d’une institution stable dans un marché où les principaux acteurs ont connu des faillites. Elle est en pleine croissance et couvre déjà les deux Kivus (Goma, Bukavu et Uvira), Bunia (Province de l’Ituri dans l’ex province orientale), Kalemie (Province du Tanganika dans l’ex Katanga) et Kisangani (Province de la Tshopo dans l’ex Province Orientale). Elle ambitionne de conquérir des nouveaux marchés et d’élargir sa zone de couverture. Une des forces de l’institution réside dans l’implication des actionnaires dans le maintien de la vision et le développement de l’institution, leur capacité à lever des fonds pour financer la croissance et la solidité de la gouvernance.

FPM et VisionFund, un partenariat pour le renforcement du processus d’inclusion financière en RDC
Signature du contrat de partenariat FPM – FINCA pour la promotion de l’inclusion financière en RDC

Dernières nouvelles