FPM covers four cities on the occasion of the eighth edition of the International Savings Day

to celebrate the eighth edition of the International Day of Savings (IDS), FPM in collaboration with the Central Bank of Congo (CBC) and the National Association of Microfinance Institutions (NAMFI) has covered 4 cities of the DRC namely Kinshasa, Kisangani, Lubumbashi and Bukavu.

  Press Conference for the International Saving Day in Lubumbashi

For two days, on October 30 and 31, 2018, under the theme “Saving in the DRC for my future, yes it is possible”, various activities were organized in the 4 cities, including press conferences, forums, motorized caravans, television shows etc. to promote the culture of saving and to encourage the population to save from formal financial institutions, as this is the main objective of the IDS.

In detail, these activities consisted of:

  • Sensitizing the population on the culture of saving, in particular young schoolgirls;
  • Sensitizing financial institutions and their customers on saving through two main themes selected: savings and mobile banking;
  • Provide an opportunity for financial institutions to present their various financial products and services to the public with a view to improving the rate of financial inclusion and reducing the rate of delinquency for credit.

More than 100 participants per city attended these meetings, including heads of financial institutions as well as their clients, schoolchildren, support structures for MSMEs, some government officials such as the National Minister of Primary, Secondary and Professional Education (PSPE), the Governor of the Central Bank of Congo, provincial governors and their delegates, provincial ministers of primary, secondary and vocational education (PSPE), etc. The various forums led by FPM experts were accompanied by debates allowing participants to become more immersed in notions related to savings.

 International Savings Day event in Kinshasa

In Kinshasa, FPM, through its partners FINCA DRC and Equity Bank Congo, offered a savings account with a deposit of 50 USD, to a sample of 60 students from 12 schools in Kinshasa. This gesture aimed at initiating and encouraging the culture of saving among students who are the main target of the IDS and the future of the nation.

Signature of the FPM - FINCA partnership agreement for financial inclusion promotion in the DRC
AFRILAND FIRST BANK CD and FPM SA, a partnership to promote financial inclusion in the DRC

Latest news

Le FPM couvre quatre villes à l’occasion de la huitième édition de la Journée Internationale de l’épargne

A l’occasion de la célébration de la huitième édition de la Journée internationale de l’épargne (JIE), le FPM en collaboration avec la Banque centrale du Congo (BCC) et l’Association Nationale des Institutions de microfinance (ANIMF) a couvert 4 villes de la RDC à savoir Kinshasa, Kisangani, Lubumbashi et Bukavu.

Pendant deux journées, le 30 et le 31 octobre 2018, sous le thème « Epargner en RDC pour mon avenir, oui c’est possible », différentes activités ont été organisées dans les 4 villes entre autres des conférences de presse, des forums, des caravanes motorisées, des émissions télévisées etc. afin de promouvoir la culture de l’épargne et encourager la population à épargner auprès des institutions financières formelles, tel étant l’objectif principal de la JIE.

De manière détaillée, ces activités ont consisté à :

  • Sensibiliser la population sur la culture de l’épargne, en particulier la jeunesse écolière ;
  • Sensibiliser les institutions financières et leurs clients sur l’épargne à travers deux principales thématiques retenues : l’épargne et le mobile banking ;
  • Donner l’occasion aux institutions financières de présenter leurs différents produits et services financiers à la population en vue de l’amélioration du taux de l’inclusion financière et la réduction du taux de délinquance pour le crédit.

Ces assisses ont accueilli plus de 100 participants par ville notamment les responsables des institutions financières et leurs clients, les écoliers, les structures d’accompagnement des MPME, quelques autorités étatiques comme le Ministre national de l’Enseignement primaire, secondaire et professionnel (EPSP), le Gouverneur de la Banque Centrale du Congo, les gouverneurs provinciaux et leurs délégués, les ministres provinciaux de l’Éducation primaire, secondaire et professionnel (EPSP) etc. Les différents forums animés par les experts étaient accompagnés des débats permettant aux participants de s’imprégner davantage des notions liées à l’épargne.

 

En particulier à Kinshasa, le FPM, à travers ses partenaires FINCA RDC et Equity Banque Congo, a offert un compte épargne avec un dépôt de 50 USD, à un échantillon de 60 élèves issus de 12 écoles de Kinshasa. Ce geste avait comme objectif d’initier et encourager la culture de l’épargne chez les élèves qui sont la cible principale de la JIE et l’avenir de la nation.

Signature du contrat de partenariat FPM – FINCA pour la promotion de l’inclusion financière en RDC
AFRILAND FIRST BANK CD et FPM SA, un partenariat pour la promotion de l’inclusion financière en RDC

Dernières nouvelles